Client Testimonials

Please note that all five star  reviews shown on this website are direct from the author(s). Vernon  holds all names and addresses, which are retained on file as proof to  the pedigree and authenticity of each review posted by satisfied clients  past and present and are available on request.

Antique jewellery valuations

I had collection of antique diamond jewelry and gold jewelry and Vernon's service was impecable I wanted a private sale rather than an auction sale which would have incurred much larger charges. Vernon managed to sell the ítems quickly and expertly and updated me regularly with constant progress reports I can thoroughly recommend his services

Tim Naylor - 2nd October 2019

Extremely professional as well as kind

I had a small legacy of jewellery from my late aunt and found Vernon on the web offering free valuations with the possibility to sell through him. I decided to take him up on this generous offer and he did exactly what he promised: entirely free of charge, he researched each piece and provided me with an estimate of value for the whole set. No pressure to sell and conducted with the utmost courtesy. Extremely professional and extremely kind.

Viv E. - Aug 2019

Very helpful in assessing three original paintings

Vernon was very helpful in assessing three original paintings and gave me great support in finding the best way to realise the most value. He kept the pictures at his home within the time frame agreed. Although he wasn't successful in selling them he gave me extremely good advice in pointing me in right direction enabling me to move them on. "what a lovely man"

Jackie Colin -July 2019

Excellent service!

I had a diamond pendant that I’d had valued in the Lanes. Vernon, unlike the other jewellers actually took time and care to research the item and give me a more accurate value. I am so grateful for his knowledge and wisdom I was able to get the best price for my item. The research and valuation was free. Thanks Vernon!

Klare S - August 2019

Vintage Diamond Jewellery Sale

"Outstanding diamond sale. I took my vintage diamond jewellery to Vernon who after 3 days of constant and meticulous research which he did completey for free, re-appaised the values far more accurately than any high street jewelers from the Laines in Brighton to high street jewelers in London I visited. I did not hesitate to go through Vernon where all business was conducted to the letter,very professionaly and private. Having gone to high street jewelers I would highly recommended going to a professional who knows exactly what he's talking about with many years of experience. (Vernon Ward) A personal one to one service! Having my mothers jewellery which is very sentimental Vernon was the only person who looked after me with compassion and understanding and not for financial gain. He encouraged me not to rush in to anything which is so rare in todays modern world. Which gave me total piece of mind when conducting my business with him from start to finish. Thank you Vernon"

Tracey - Brighton. September 2018

Antique Commission Extremely Reasonable

"Incredible service from Vernon Ward. Several months ago I contacted Vernon to value a plethora of fine, varied antiques – gold watches, elaborate clocks, oil paintings, and period furniture – and to advise on their saleability. Living in a distant Scottish island proved no problem for Vernon, whose guidance and patience in assisting me resulted in an excellent outcome, potentially saving thousands of pounds of charges I would have incurred had I used the likes of established outlets such as Sotheby’s or Christie’s. I know this to be the case having checked the charges they would have placed on assessing my antiques.Vernon’s service was exemplary and his commission extremely reasonable. He gave freely of his time over a long period, and his knowledge was faultless. Anyone with interesting antiques would do well contacting Vernon Ward Antique Valuers first and foremost."

Mr Bradley - Scotland. August 2018

Discreet Private Antique Sale

"When selling the family silver, important antiques and jewellery, from my aristocratic and well-known family; we required a discreet private sale. After a great amount of research and searching the internet for dealers and auctioneers, we found the phenomenal agent Vernon Ward. After initial meetings, we instructed Vernon to sell our immense array of family heirlooms. Vernon is a real pleasure and wonderful to work with, his knowledge is outstanding, he exceeded our expectations by a long shot. I cannot recommend Vernon enough; his personality and knowledge are second to none. We will most certainly be doing business again, I wouldn’t ever contemplate using anyone else."

Name not shown for client confidentiality, Hove - Brighton - April 2018

Chinese Desk and Gold Jewellery Valuation & Sale

"We had a disappointing experience with auctions, which made us look for an alternative way to sell our Chinese desk. After numerous phone calls and meetups with Vernon, the desk was sold within a 10 days period. There were no hidden charges. My partner is also in the process of selling gold jewellery through Vernon. For the record, Vernon does not charge anything for his research work on the items, which is much appreciated. His service is excellent and I am more than happy to recommend him to anyone. Excellent Service all along!"

Bernhard Meiler - Surrey. February 2018

Vernon is a credit to his profession

"After contacting various experts for diamond jewellery, gold watches and pocket watches that I had inherited, I chose Vernon and he achieved excellent prices on all - far higher than other quotes. He was always punctual for the meetings held at the Bank, where the items were deposited. Vernon is a credit to his profession. Exceptional service."

Jennifer W - London

It's refreshing to meet an honest antiques expert

"Following my two previous reviews commending Vernon in researching my painting , I am delighted to announce that it is, indeed, an original oil painting by JMW Turner. A half-page article was published in The Times on Wednesday 6th September 2017 (page 17) and the article can also be found online. Vernon will be instrumental in securing a private sale and he has done remarkably well in arranging various meetings and safe storage of the painting pending sale. It's refreshing to meet an honest antiques expert who has liaised with me for over a year and has kept faith in my belief in the painting's authenticity."

JulianB-24, London

Vernon is still exceeding all auction related estimates

"I have now instructed Vernon four times to dispose of fine jewellery, silver and a host of antiques from my mothers estate. Seven months later and Vernon is still exceeding all auction related estimates, always within the time scale and totally prompt without any added charges. Excellent knowledge and service."

AbbieC-7, Sussex

We received excellent service, a far better return than expected and all with no hidden charges

"We were bequeathed extremely high end diamond/ gold jewellery and signed pieces and approached top jewellers and auctioneers (being somewhat out of our depth and new to the selling procedure for expert appraisals/ valuations). However, before selling, we felt we needed another appraisal and contacted Vernon - what good fortune that was! After asking him to sell our jewellery, We received excellent service, a far better return than expected and all with no hidden charges. From beginning to end, he was attentive and reassuring. He operates in a friendly, hospitable way which made doing business with him a pleasure. He is a man of his word and he delivered all that he promised!"

Lynn D - Surrey

Impressed with Vernon's knowledge and professionalism

"Vernon very kindly gave up his time to run a charity antiques Roadshow for a Local Charity, Ferring Country Centre. We had a fantastic day raising money for adults with learning difficulties. We were very impressed with Vernon's knowledge and professionalism. Looking forward to working with him again later in the year."

SamK-85, East Preston

Incredibly quick turnaround, and fair dealings all round

"After contacting both Vernon and an auction house for valuations we decided to sell our antiques with him. Excellent personal service. an incredibly quick turnaround, and fair dealings all round."

AIT - 9, Sussex

Excellent and professional and he made the experience enjoyable!

"Vernon recently completed a large probate schedule for me. He service was excellent and professional and he made the experience enjoyable! I would thoroughly recommend Vernon to anyone needing similar work completing.... This could have been a chore however Vernon made it fun!"

SarahW-2594, Sussex

I cannot endorse Vernon more highly

"After asking Vernon to initially look at a video featuring the boy band Take That, which I became owner of in 1990, I had no idea as to the research and selling process such an item would require. Vernon skilfully guided me by way of extensive research and time without incurring charges, in addition to keeping me informed throughout the whole process which took nigh on 5 months. I am absolutely delighted with the outcome. Not only did it gain world-wide press coverage, for which Vernon, asked my permission – which was granted, he is now in negotiations with prospective private collectors, the outcome of which, is private and confidential. I cannot endorse Vernon more highly and anyone finding themselves in a position similar to mine, I would not hesitate to advise them to seek the professional services of Vernon Ward. Moreover, I would highly recommend Vernon for his excellent guidance and ethical standards."

DavidR-592, Sussex

Gold effects fine sale

"My gold goblet and other gold jewelers was classed as scrap. However after visiting Vernon he achieved fine prices as individual items from collectors he sourced, and secured far above other quotes. Excellent conclusion for me, and sales concluded privately confidentially. Would recommend without question."

Tim S - 22 May 2019

Read more testimonials 


Here are a few examples of letters of thanks


Antique Valuations in London, Sussex, Kent, Surrey, Hampshire & UK

Contact Vernon